Our history

EUROCAE was created in 1963.

EUROCAE is a non profit organisation formed at Lucerne, Switzerland, in 1963, as a European forum focusing on electronic equipment for air transport. It deals exclusively with aviation standardisation, for both airborne and ground systems and equipments.

In the 60's

  • April 1963: EUROCAE is established at a meeting in Lucerne as the "European Organisation for Civil Aviation Electronics"
    • 23 members (all manufacturers) from Belgium, France, Italy, The Netherlands, United Kingdom
    • President: Philippe Lizon (LMT),
    • Steering Committee Chairman: Bernard O'Kane (Marconi)
  • Dec 1963: Collaboration is established with RTCA
  • May 1965: first published document (Achievement of Reliability by use of Redundancy Techniques)
  • October 1966: A Civil Aviation Administration (the French SGAC) becomes member
  • 1966: EUROCAE formally recognised by ECAC, who recommends that EUROCAE specifications be used by Aviation Authorities for regulatory purposes

In the 70's

  • 1970: Three important Working Groups are set up:
    • WG-12, Data Processing / Software
    • WG-13, Area Navigation
    • WG-14, Environment
  • 1973: EUROCONTROL becomes member
  • 1975: Secretariat moves to rue Hamelin, Paris
  • 1976: First publication of a joint Document RTCA/EUROCAE (ED-14/DO-160)
  • 1978: Creation of a Working Group for Ground Equipment (DME)

In the 80's

  • 1980-1981: Philips (Canada), General Electric, King Radio, Collins Avionics, Lockheed Aircraft (USA) become the first non-European members
  • 1981: Adoption of ED-14 as approved ISO Standard (7137)
  • 1982: Publication of Software document ED-12/DO-178
  • 1983: After 20 years, EUROCAE:
    • Counts 59 members
    • Has activated 26 Working Groups
    • Has published more than 40 documents
  • 1986: Creation of a Working Group on GPS
  • 1987: Bernard Perret becomes the Secretary General of EUROCAE
  • 1989: EUROCAE extends its domain of activities to non-electronic Equipment and becomes the European Organisation for Civil Aviation Equipment

In the 90's

  • June 1991: First JTSO issued by JAA referencing EUROCAE specifications
  • 1994: Francis Grimal becomes the Secretary General of EUROCAE
  • 1996: Signature of Memorandum of Understanding with JAA, recognising EUROCAE as preferable body to develop specifications for airborne equipment and systems
  • 1996: First recognition by ICAO that existing standards, such as EUROCAE and RTCA MOPS, can be used as a basis for SARPs

In the 21st Century

  • Jan 2000: First meeting of the EUROCAE Technical Advisory Committee (TAC)
  • May 2004: Gilbert Amato becomes the Secretary General of EUROCAE
  • Mid 2004: EUROCAE mentioned in SES Interoperability Regulation (552/2004)
  • 2004-2006: Study contracts (FOIPS,AHLM,AAM…) signed with EUROCONTROL
  • 2004-2011: Seven grants signed with the EC over the period
  • 2006:
    • EUROCAE moves to Malakoff (Paris area)
    • Creation of the ATMSCG (Air Traffic Management Standards Co-ordinationGroup) establishing cooperation between the EC, EUROCONTROL, CEN, CENELEC, ETSI and later, EASA
    • New activity set up: UAV (WG-73)
  • 2006-2008:
    • Framework contract signed with the EASA in 2006
    • Contracts signed in 2006 and 2008 regarding ETSO updates and development
  • September 2008: Members of the Secretariats of ICAO, ARINC, EUROCAE, RTCA and SAE International met with the view towards establishing a closer working relationship amongst international standards-making organizations
  • 2009:
    • Signature of a MoU between EUROCAE and ICAO
    • Signature of a MoU between EUROCAE and SAE
  • 2010-2011: Contract signed with EUROCONTROL regarding the contribution to the SESARC3 - Standardisation Roadmap
  • January 2012: Abdoulaye N'Diaye becomes the Secretary General of EUROCAE
  • July 2014: Christian Schleifer-Heingärtner took over on an interim basis the functions of EUROCAE Secretary General
  • 21 November 2014: Signature of an MoC between EUROCAE and RTCA
  • February 2015: Christian Schleifer-Heingärtner took over the permanent position of Secretary General
  • 2015: Creation of the European ATM Standards Coordination Group (EASCG)
  • September 2015: EUROCAE updates tje MoU with SAE International to an MoC
  • October 2015: EUROCAE signs a MoU with ASD-STAN
  • March 2016: EUROCAE signs a MoC with SESAR Deployment Manager
  • July 2016: IATA becomes EUROCAE's 200th member
  • February 2017: EUROCAE moves to Saint-Denis (Paris area)
  • January 2018: EUROCAE signs an MoU with IFATCA
  • April 2019: EUROCAE signs a MoU with ACI Europe
  • June 2020: EUROCAE signs a MoU with GAMA
  • October 2020: 57th EUROCAE General Assembly held in a hybrid format (given the current pandemic context)